Color

For my birthday, I requested the book The Practice of Contemplative Photography by Andy Karr and Michael Wood.

I powered through the first five chapters in one sitting and then stopped.  Chapter Five is where the assignments begin.  The first assignment is called Color.  I want to take some time with this assignment before moving on.

One of the “rules” of the assignment isto “forget about shooting flowers and nature.”  I broke this rule for my first walk about because… well, I work at a nature center and that’s where I was when I had time to shoot.

It was cold and gray.  The clouds were thick and threatened rain – or snow.  Occasionally, though, the sun would break through.  It was late in the afternoon – 5:00 to 6:00 pm.

I tried to follow the spirit of the assignment in all its other aspects:

  • Look for bold, vivid colors.
  • When you are stopped by a flash of color, let your mind stop.  Spend half a minute looking further and contemplating what stopped you.
  • Enjoy yourself.

I was pleased with a handful of my “captures.” I will post each separately.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

