Pink Spotted Lady Beetle

IMG_8539

Most of my macro shots are taken using an 18-55mm lens that came with my first DSLR – the Canon Rebel XT. I have a 10x magnifier that screws onto the front of it like a filter.

This shot was taken with a lens borrowed from my friend Aimee. It’s the Sigma 50mm DG Macro lens. All of the photos in this set on Flicker were also taken with this lens. I didn’t use a tripod or anything, and several of my subjects were quite mobile! I’d like to try another whole day in the woods with it and see what else it can do…

4 thoughts on “Pink Spotted Lady Beetle

  1. Artful abuela May 4, 2012 at 6:15 am Reply

    pretty awesome shot! i have heard of the magnifier lenses but don’t know a whole lot about them. sigma is a good name. how close to the subjuect can you get with a 50mm macro?

    • Jennifer Schlick May 4, 2012 at 6:39 am Reply

      I was only a couple inches away from this one… but I need to experiment more. And I probably should look for some instructions. There’s a button on this lens: full/limited. What does that do?

      • Artful abuela May 4, 2012 at 8:57 am

        it allows you to limit the focusing area to half of what it would be if you used full focusing range.

      • Jennifer Schlick May 7, 2012 at 6:35 am

        Hmm… I’ll have to experiment to see if I can figure out how to make that work to my advantage!

Leave a Reply

