Printing, Matting, Framing

IMG_4716

Oak Leaf in Grass

I’ve been spending some time getting pieces ready for a group show at the 3rd on 3rd Gallery in Jamestown, NY.  It’s always so hard for me to decide on a theme, to decide on images, to decide on a format, to decide on mat and frame colors…  I get panicky and I second guess myself all over the place.

And so, I asked my oldest daughter – a confident decision-maker.  I told her I wanted to do something from my contemplative series.  She picked 6 images – pow!  Just like that.  What a load off my shoulders!

It reminded me of a time when my sister-in-law and I were in Toronto.  I was there for a workshop; she was on vacation.  After my workshops ended, I joined her vacation.  We saw a show, ate in fine restaurants, found a bar with live music.  It was fun.  The best part was a tiny, swank, family-run Italian restaurant.  We sat down and looked at the menu and couldn’t bear the thought of having to make a decision about what to eat.

We closed the menu and told the waiter to choose for us.  He brought bruschetta and wine to start us off.  I think the main dish was some kind of fish…  I can’t remember exactly.  The point is, we gave over the decision-making to someone else and it was glorious.

Thank you, waiter dude.  And thank you, Emily!

4 thoughts on “Printing, Matting, Framing

  1. Artful abuela January 25, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

    best wishes on your show.

  2. Toni Kelly January 26, 2013 at 7:56 am Reply

    Be sure to send me or let me know when the opening is.

  3. Emily January 27, 2013 at 9:20 pm Reply

    You’re welcome! It’s going to be a great show 🙂

Leave a Reply

