The Seduction of Color

The chapter in a photo book I’m reading right now is The Seduction of Color. The author relates that he often asks his students, “Have you tried this in black and white?” He instructs that any element that does not add to a picture detracts from it. With those thoughts clanking around in my head, I took yesterday’s image back into Lightroom and played with it to create this:

IMG_2378-3

And I’ll repeat yesterday’s version:

IMG_2378

What do you think? What are your reactions? Do you respond differently to one compared to the other?

2 thoughts on “The Seduction of Color

  1. Artful abuela January 28, 2013 at 8:51 am Reply

    i like them both, particularly the composition, but I much prefer the black and white. It is simpler, more direct, and better represents the idea of winter shadows. However, I have always had a soft spot for B/W.

  2. Emily January 29, 2013 at 3:17 pm Reply

    I like the b&w one better. You called it shadows (or something), but in the original I was fixated on the trunks of the trees and had to look again to see what you were seeing. Granted in this one I knew what to look for, but I do think the new version represents it better.

Leave a Reply

