Making me Crazy

This series is making me a little crazy.  First of all, I’m obsessed with the colors and patterns.

IMG_3686

But it’s the picture taking that is making me crazy/frustrated. The only way I can see these colors is to turn the surface of the object at a certain angle. The lens can’t be parallel with the surface or it casts a shadow on the image. The resulting picture is sharp in the middle, but very fuzzy top and bottom.

Any clues how I can get more of the image in focus? I’ve tried smaller aperture and that hasn’t helped. I’m using my 18-55mm lens with 10X magnifier screwed on the front. The camera is 6 inches or closer to the object.

Or you could just tell me you like the shallow depth of field… that it doesn’t bother you at all!

11 thoughts on “Making me Crazy

  1. Jennifer Schlick May 3, 2013 at 6:10 am Reply

    Maybe I should exaggerate the shallow depth of field. Oh why do I get on a roll and then have to go to work?

  2. Steve Lafreniere May 3, 2013 at 6:28 am Reply

    Perhaps a wider-angle lens? 55 mm or so. You’d get more area in focus (in the center of the image) before the curvature of the lens takes over at the edges. I think.

  3. Kathleen Tenpas May 3, 2013 at 6:42 am Reply

    I like the shallow depth of field

  4. Kathleen Tenpas May 3, 2013 at 6:43 am Reply

    It looks cosmic, like something the Hubble did before the new lens

  5. Jennifer Schlick May 3, 2013 at 7:06 am Reply

    I was thinking of calling this series Cosmos in my Kitchen.

  6. dgwolf May 3, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

    I like the shallow depth of field too!

  7. Artful abuela May 3, 2013 at 7:58 am Reply

    in your flickr acct, you have 2 images. number 3390 is less successful because the image doesn’t have a clear focal point, but the one you posted on this blog entry does and the shallow depth of field works well. it’s a very ethereal and pleasing image. in the end, as you self-edit, trust your intuition. does it work for you? you have good instincts about your own work, and the more you photograph, edit and eliminate, the better you get at it. the hard part is stepping back emotionally. if the same image were someone else’s, how would you react to it?

  8. Jane May 3, 2013 at 1:31 pm Reply

    I LOVE this series of yours. If this 18-55 lens is the “kit” lens, it could be that it won’t do what you’d like it to and the magnifier is exaggerating that. If you’re using the highest f stop number and a tripods and mirror lockup and a time delay and this still happens, I would suggest looking up a hyper focal chart and focusing elsewhere, depending on where the chart suggests AND also try borrowing a friend’s 60mm macro lens or 100/105 mm macro and again use a high f stop number and compare the differences. My guess is it is your lens/magnifier combo. I’m sure others will have different suggestions. You are very talented but this particular subject is really appealing to me. Good luck!

  9. northeastnaturalist May 15, 2013 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Know anyone with a tilt-shift lens?? Other choice is to change lighting source and lighting angles so your sensor plane can be parallel to the subject’s plane and light coming from the sides. Ok, I’m just tuning in here — are these polished rocks?

    • Jennifer Schlick May 15, 2013 at 3:45 pm Reply

      Actually, these are very tiny portions of the bottom of my copper-bottomed Revere-ware. I don’t see the colors unless the pan is turned at a particular angle, and if i get the camera parallel to the pan, the colors disappear. I have never used a tilt-shift lens. I’ll have to see if that works…

      • northeastnaturalist May 15, 2013 at 4:15 pm

        Put the word out. Maybe someone has a T-S lens they can loan you. They’re special purpose and expensive. In the old days we used a view camera which had swings and tilts at both ends of the bellows.

Leave a Reply

