Contemplative Photography

For the third year in a row I was privileged to lead one of the Lake Walks co-sponsored by the Bird, Tree and Garden Club at Chautauqua and the Chautauqua Watershed Conservancy. The topic of my walk was once again, Contemplative Photography.

I gave a brief introduction by explaining that the walk was really a book report – based on the book by Andy Karr and Michael Wood.  (And here is their website that I mentioned:  http://seeingfresh.com/.)

I quickly gave participants an overview of the concept and described the various exercises they could choose from. Then I sent them out to make pictures. After 15 minutes they returned to share their pictures with a partner and their experience with the group. It was a lot of fun for me to hear how people respond to this approach.

Here are some of the images I took:

Color:
IMG_1066

IMG_1059

Light:
IMG_1048

IMG_1061

Texture:
IMG_1070

Simplicity:
IMG_1063

Space:
IMG_1049

I hope some of my students will see this blog and post a comment. Maybe I can even get some to email their photos to post here! That would be cool.

Leave a Reply

