“Finished” Project #3

This has been a very challenging project.

First, it’s conceptual. That is, we were to come up with an idea first, then make the photographs. This way of working is quite foreign to me. I tend to take my camera for a walk and see what images present themselves to me… a method that is very relaxing, meditative, almost spiritual.

The concept: we were to select a poem or song lyrics and interpret it photographically. I was surprised how quickly I settled on “For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her” by Paul Simon. I could see all the photographs in my mind’s eye… sort of. And they all had challenge number two: people.

I don’t typically shoot people. I hate to be photographed, so I assume all people do… That makes it hard to create a shooting experience that is pleasant for me or for the subject.

And of course there is my perfectionism. Not being able to create what is in my mind’s eye because I don’t have the time, materials, but most importantly the skills… it’s very stressful.

Anyway. Here it is. I’m not completely happy with the collection and would continue working on them if I knew what else to do to get them closer to the image in my mind’s eye. As with theatrical productions, you’re never ready; you just run out of time.

For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
by Paul Simon

What a dream I had,
pressed in organdy,
clothed in crinoline of smokey burgandy
softer than the rain.

I wandered empty streets
down past the shop displays

(I like the one with a single human better, but my instructor encouraged me to keep working the one with multiple… so I’m putting them both here. Can’t wait to hear from classmates which they like better.)

I wandered empty streets down past the shop displays...

I wandered empty streets down past the shop displays...

I heard cathedral bells
tripping down the alley way
as I walked on.

I heard cathedral Bells...

And when you ran to me
your cheeks flushed with the night.

And when you ran to me your cheeks flushed with the night.

We walked on frosted fields
of juniper and lamplight.
I held your hand.

We walked on frosted fields

And when I awoke
and felt you warm and near
I kissed your honey hair
with my grateful tears.

And when I awoke and felt you warm and near...

Oh I love you girl.
Oh I love you.


I am very grateful to Sheridan and Maggie for being my actors in this project. They were patient and so very helpful. Thank you!!


Things I was unable to achieve:
– pressed in organdy (may print on fabric to get this effect, or photograph some fabric and use as a translucent layer… tried with some fabric textures I found online, but wasn’t happy with the effect.)
– clothed in crinoline (If I could re-shoot, I would put Maggie in a smokey burgandy gown in a shop window for Sheridan to walk past. I also could see the edges of the dream photos with a crinoline as a partial frame… but have no idea how to do that…)
– In the shop display, it was suggested to me that i duplicate the striped window shade and put it over the Men’s Suit sign. I don’t know how to do that and make it look seamless.


Update: Ooh, ooh! I figured out the copy and transform thing:

IMG_3162-Shop Display - 1 Sheridan

2 thoughts on ““Finished” Project #3

  1. Artful abuela February 22, 2015 at 10:32 am Reply

    I also hate to photograph people. My approach to the camera is similar to yours. Mindful presence; even if I don’t always execute it well. The process is meditative. That being said, this class is encouraging you to step outside of your comfort zone. That is a good thing. I like what you have done with the song and I also like learning about you from a different perspective. As I have followed the process through your blog I feel a deep interest in how you progress in the course. I hope you will share more details when we get together in October.

    Enviado desde mi iPhone

    > El Feb 22, 2015, a las 9:25 AM, Jennifer Scott Schlick escribió: > > >

  2. Jennifer Schlick February 22, 2015 at 2:20 pm Reply

    Dang it. Just figured out how to do the copy/transform thing to cover up that distracting yellow sign… See… always fiddling!

Leave a Reply

