Cyanotypes… Finally!

Well, we finally got a chance to experiment making cyanotypes… We made eight. I’m only (mostly) happy with one. Let’s just say we learned a lot.

Willow in Lakewood - Cyanotype

The above print was made by taping two copies of the negative together and placing them under the glass in bright sun for 10 minutes. This was the last print I made of the day.

Here’s an earlier attempt, also in bright sun. This one has only one layer of the negative, and I think I lost track of the time leaving it out too long:

Cyanotype "Fail" - Willow

Did you notice that I also flipped the negative between these two shots? I’d like to say I did that on purpose but actually, it was a “mistake”.

Here is one of the first prints I made – under cloudy skies, one layer of negative, 40 minute exposure:

Cyanotype "Fail" - Crows

I think the exposure worked well – the sky is nice and bright – but there was a fold in the paper and the glass wasn’t heavy enough to hold the negative tight against it – so there is a blur through the branches.

I labeled these “fails” – but they’re not, really! It’s all a learning process!

3 thoughts on “Cyanotypes… Finally!

  1. Jeannie Danna April 4, 2015 at 8:34 pm Reply

    Nice! I will have to learn more about these cyanotypes.

  2. Cindy April 5, 2015 at 9:30 am Reply

    Where is the tree in the picture? I know I have seen it before.

  3. Jennifer Schlick April 5, 2015 at 5:21 pm Reply

    It’s in Lakewood. Start at the Beach, walk west. When you get to where you have to turn left to stay on a street, look right.

Leave a Reply

