Becoming My Mother

This idea has been rattling around in the back of my head for a long time: to overlay a picture of my daughter with a picture of me, or a picture of my mother with a picture of me – to show family resemblance.

I had already messed around with the picture of mom – originally part of a group shot. I practiced with selection and refine edge in Photoshop to remove the background and place her in front of some blurred out beach grass.

The other day, I was going through my pictures looking for stuff to experiment with and I found a selfy in which I am facing the camera at approximately the same angle as mom. It wasn’t the same size, nor was it exactly the right angle, but I thought I’d give it a go.

IMG_6430 - Becoming my Mother

I used Edit->Transform->Rotate, Scale, and Skew to get my face to line up over mom’s. I messed around with opacity until it seemed about right, then took it over to Nik Silver Efex Pro for some finishing.

In some of the experiments I got rid of the hard edges of my portrait, but in the end, I liked it with the edges best… sort of a frame within a frame.

2 thoughts on “Becoming My Mother

  1. Norbert Haupt April 21, 2015 at 10:16 am Reply

    Eerie

  2. alphawhiskeyfoxtrot April 21, 2015 at 11:17 pm Reply

    You come up with the most interesting ideas and challenges for yourself. Fascinating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

